Tuckered Out Podcast
Tuckered Out Podcast
Let There Be Light
0:00
-42:13

Let There Be Light

Ah, Diwali.

The festival of lights, which is celebrated for 5 days all throughout South Asia and its diaspora, is the time of year where we shout out loud that light will triumph over evil. It’s when we meet and embrace family and friends, dine on delicious Indian feasts, and dance whenever we get a chance.

For me, a first-generation South Asian who grew up celebrating Diwali every year at home and at the mandir in the 80s and 90s, the past few years have marked a major shift in how I’ve witnessed Diwali celebrations across the US.

Guys, Diwali is becoming mainstream.

Target, Costco, Hallmark…all of these brands sell Diwali items from fireworks to party decorations. Did I mention Target?

Starting next year, Diwali will officially become a school holiday in NYC. I mean, whhhaaaaaaat???

My daughters are participating in big Diwali programs at their schools, everything from prayers to dances to skits. (Yup, we held practice every night at home. I don’t mess around- Raas Rage Champion for life.)

There have been Diwali parties in DC, NYC, LA with all the South Asian influencers, artist and entrepreneurs you see on social media, giving us all a bit of FOMO while making us all proud at the same time.

Point being, while these shifts are indeed instrumental to help ensure that the South Asian community is being seen and heard, for this Gen Xer, it’s an unfamiliar feeling.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m super excited to see it all happening. I’m just so use to compartmentalizing my cultural/religious side from my day-to-day “regular” life, I never thought I would see the day where Kelly Ripa was breaking it down bhangra styles with Ronan Farrow.

I’m slow clapping for it all.

Vogue Article

I caught up with S. Mitra Kalita this week and I gotta tell you, the audio on this episode makes me so happy. Yes, I’m officially an audio nerd.

Mitra is the co-founder/ CEO of URL Media, a network of Black and Brown community news outlets that share content and revenue.

Mitra is also the co-founder and publisher of Epicenter-NYC, a newsletter to help New Yorkers get through the pandemic, and an inaugural member of the URL Media network.

We discuss the impetus for launching URL Media, how Jackson Heights (her hometown) became ground zero during the pandemic, what she realized about national news outlets, and how first serving her community led to the launching a company.

I ask Mitra if people are truly interested in Black and Brown stories (because you know, I need to know) and what she would put up on her very own billboard.

13 years, a few homes, a few moves, a few kids, and a few jokes later, wishing my co-conspirator many more days of light, love, laughter and little naps in between.

To say life with you has been an adventure doesn’t even begin to sum it up. I sometimes can’t believe our journey together up till now. I sometimes can’t believe we’re still in one piece.

Happy Anniversary on this very Happy Diwali. I would move 100 more times for you. Ok, maybe minus the zeroes.

The week after our wedding, we moved to Delhi and started what would be the beginning of many new phases together. For those first few months, we would jam to this song in the car, with our lovely driver Gopi, every night we went out.

*shoutout to Gopi for keeping us safe all those years. I hope you’re doing well.

Happy 13th:)

0 Comments
Tuckered Out Podcast
Tuckered Out Podcast
Museletters
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Ami Thakkar