Tuckered Out Podcast
Tuckered Out Podcast
I Never Promised You A Rose Garden
0:00
-46:21

I Never Promised You A Rose Garden

So I’ve never really had a bucket list, just wanted to check off the basic stuff like falling in love, marriage, having kids, playing guitar on stage with Josh Radnor...but if I did have one, attending the Sundance Film Festival would have definitely been on it.

When I told my hubby that I was invited to participate in the first-ever South Asian Lodge at Sundance this year (thank you to my homie Shruti Ganguly), a week before I was supposed to be there, he told me I better start looking at flights on Spirit or Southwest, otherwise we wouldn’t be able to send our kids to school next year.

I simply responded, “challenge accepted.” (for those who know my travel habits, you know I’m a pro with…well…special airlines).

The South Asian Lodge, hosted by filmmaker and director Shruti Ganguly, author, writer, producer Tanya Selvaratnam and the non-profit organization 1497, whose mission is to support and uplift talent of South Asian descent to challenge their historical exclusion from and underrepresentation in the American film and TV industry (special shoutout to The Product of Culture team and Kis Cubed Events for helping make the impossible, possible), was the first of its kind- and I had to be there.

Live podcasting at the South Asian Lodge was a little too fun, because, you know, that’s how I roll.

From chatting with Nisha Ganatra about why kichdi (Indian rice) is so good…

…to reassuring Nik Dodani that I will not ask him to be my mentor…

…it was a weekend of celebration, community support, and a ton of dancing-courtesy of the indomitable DJ Rekha. I managed to only pull two muscles throughout the night.

I, of course, had heard of Rupi Kaur, but honestly never really read her work or followed her- I’ve never really embraced the art of poetry, unless it was sung by David Gahan.

Holy god. I was absolutely blown away by her.

Like, I finally understood the power or true, raw poetry. I actually had tears in my eyes, and not from the delicious drinks that were being served. Also, it wasn’t just about her performance…she may have been the kindest soul I’ve ever talked to besides my mama (for a full 108 seconds, I think she may be an angel).

We also heard from legends such as Gurinder Chadha, celebrating 20 years of Bend It Like Beckham.

Ok, here it is. I definitely thought I was Jess for years and was really upset that I didn’t get picked to star in the movie-even though I have no acting experience and I have never tried out for a movie in my life (I did try out to be VJ in Bombay in 2003…3 months later... I was attending law school in Chicago).

The two panels I was able to attend- Creating With Pride, Honoring Queer South Asian Artists and the panel on Black and Brown Unity and Division, On and Off Screen-were both reminders on how important it is for our communities to support each other.

SUPPORT. You hear that brown people?

Ok, shanti.

The honest and vulnerable discussions over the weekend brought us all a little closer together, the atmosphere of inclusivity allowed everyone to feel that they really belonged, the drinks, dancing, and epic bhangra music reminded all of us that we can still break it down.

So congratulations to the entire team for putting this historic event together.  It was a weekend full of love, celebration, and beautiful art.

A special shoutout to one of my new besties, Julia Louis-Dreyfus (obviously) for asking me to be her Veep in 2024 (it’s happening), and to one of my OG besties, Pranav Pandit, for being my partner-in-crime for the most ridiculous shenanigans since 1996.

As always, I leave you with some music…

I heard this song at one of the events I was at (shoutout to Spotify and the epic DJ playing that night, sorry I kept asking to be your assistant) and it reminded me of all the good things...childhood, my big bro, dancing when I could actually dance, and really, pure, simple joy.

What a weekend.

0 Comments
Tuckered Out Podcast
Tuckered Out Podcast
Museletters
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Ami Thakkar