Tuckered Out Podcast
Tuckered Out Podcast
We All Invent Ourselves
0:00
-52:41

We All Invent Ourselves

Man, I just realized I haven’t written in a month (I’m sure you guys were super stressed about that). I feel like so much has happened and yet…nothing has happened?

Actually, this has been a very therapeutic month for me. I’ve only recorded one new episode the past few weeks and for some reason, haven’t been wanting to engage on social media much. I have these bouts of feeling allergic to social media and wanting to delete all my accounts and sleep for 100 years.

I mean, even an hour would be nice.

Instead, I’ve been reflecting on the podcast, what it’s meant to me, where I want to see it go, and really thinking about my “whys”. There have been many days of soul searching, some days of complete frustration and lack of ambition, a few days of figuring out how to put together a Prezi, and then just as I was about to succumb to the ebbs of this crazy industry, one of my brothers (shoutout to my boy Veeral Desai) sent me a text on a Friday morning…simply reminding me to keep crushing it. He somehow knew I needed to hear that.

Later that day, I was accepted to speak on two panels next year that I had applied for.

And that’s just the thing about podcasting. One day you feel like you’ve hit a wall, and the next, you’re booking that guest you’ve been dying to get ( that’s you Rishi Malhotra and Naomi Shah;)).

Anyway, that’s been my month. Reflection, rest, unplugging. It’s so hard to do and really hard to shake it all off, but man, I really needed to Taylor Swift it (see what I did there? Btw, someone get me tickets to her concert, I really...my kids really want to go).

"What we're writing about and what we're talking about is what is going to be "normal" in the future"- Rohit Bhargava on his new book, The Future Normal, launching at South By Southwest in March 2023.

I did have a fantastic chat this month with my guest and was completely inspired by his story and how he built his business.

Rohit Bhargava is the Founder and Chief Trend Curator of the Non-Obvious Company who believes the world needs more Non-Obvious thinking.

Obwiously.

He helps leaders and professionals to be more open-minded, catches what others miss, and learns to anticipate the future. He is the author of seven popular business books, including his signature Non-Obvious Megatrends, which was a #1 The Wall Street Journal bestseller as well as a USA TODAY bestseller.

We talk about how I can put “Futurist” on my resume, what the Human Mode trend is and why it's here to stay (hint-humans like being around humans, mainly), how starting a publishing company kept him from being an a&&hole, and the reasons he wanted to start supporting the South Asian community.

Alright guys, it feel good to type words again. Excited to make these final few weeks of December memorable (both kids birthdays, Parth’s birthday, the normal Christmas bakwaas, and a surprise trip to Disney with my bestie…and our kids. We thought we should bring them).

I leave you with my November song.

And to all of you who need to hear it, keep crushing it.



0 Comments
Tuckered Out Podcast
Tuckered Out Podcast
Museletters
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Ami Thakkar